iZombie – Kinda Like “Buffy” but Without the Dopeness (Yet)

izombie1

I’ve probably said somewhere in this blog that I don’t particularly care for zombie stories from the point of view of the zombie. My obsession with zombies is the affect they have on the living, not the zombies themselves. The zombies are a metaphor for XYZ disaster, be it a viral outbreak of salmonella or a tornado. They are the catch all for all of the what-if disaster scenarios that can really happen in the world. That’s what attracts me.

I just watched the premier on Hulu, and I can definitely see how this would be a great and fun comic. As far as the show goes, it’s a typical cop/psychic show. It’s not very imaginative. It’s also weird that there was a mini-zombie outbreak that no one seems to know about. I’ll need to read the comic to find out how that really plays out. It’s a lot easier to suspend your disbelief for a comic book than for a show, which is why all comics don’t translate well to the big or small screen.

izombie

I really like Malcolm Goodwin (above) who plays detective Clive Babinaux. He’s a Seattle detective, but with like a northeast accent. I guess there’s a story behind that. Doesn’t matter, he’s sexy. I love the way he walks. I also like Rahul Kohli (below) who plays Dr. Ravi Chakrabarti, another handsome cast member.

izombie3

To be fair, I’m not the target audience for this show. If I were the same age I was when I was fanatically into Buffy the Vampire Slayer, then I’d probably love this show. Also, if I wasn’t so heavily into zombies for their disaster metaphor, I’d probably get more out of the show.

It’s pretty cool that Liv, the main character, played by Rose McIver, has the psychic ability to help solve crimes. By no means is it a bad show. Maybe as the story goes on it’ll have some more zombie action. Or just any kind of action. It moved kind of slow. Still, it’s hard for me to want to be on the side of the zombie. That’s like siding with a disease. Like being cool with mad cow disease.

izombie4

If you haven’t watched it, catch it on Hulu, like I did this morning, or go to their site. It’s a fun show. Just not quite my cup of tea. But who knows, as the show gets its legs it may turn out to be one of my favs. It’s happened before. I didn’t start liking The Big Bang Theory until the reruns started airing on TBS. The more I think about it, I didn’t care for Buffy in the first few episodes either. But that might be because I loved the move so much that I didn’t want to adjust to seeing Sarah Michelle Gellar play Kristy Swanson’s role.

Have you watched it? What do you think?

Thanks for reading!

Peace.

Leave a Reply

